An automatic chicken coop door is the rare piece of pet gear that is really a machine, and machines are the thing I actually know.
Straight up front: I do not keep chickens. I have kept an English Mastiff, a crew of barn cats, two rescue rabbits and a desert tortoise, all of them out here in Henderson, Nevada, and none of them ever needed a motor to get out of bed in the morning.
What I do have is the other half of this. I spent years as a mechanic in a custom off-road shop, building trucks to survive the Mojave, so I spent a full research day on every automatic coop door worth buying now, ten of them, plus what owners report after a winter with one bolted to the coop.
Short version. This is a small motor, a gear train, a battery and a sensor, hung outdoors in weather, working twice a day for years. Everything that fails, fails at one of those four places.

Part of our backyard chickens guide.
Jump to:
Quick picks: the best automatic chicken coop door for each job
In a hurry? The best automatic chicken coop door for most coops is the NyPots solar door: it runs on sunlight, prints its opening size, and more people are buying it right now than anything else here. For a name with a long record, the RUN-CHICKEN T50 is the only door here that states a working temperature range. For big birds, the FabStyl XL has the widest and tallest opening on this page.
| You need | My pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| The best door for most coops | NyPots Solar Door | Solar, timer, light sensor, and it prints the opening size |
| A name with a track record | RUN-CHICKEN T50 | Tested from minus 15F to 140F, six screws, no wiring |
| Ducks, geese or big breeds | FabStyl XL | 10.8 by 14.2 inches, the biggest opening here |
| A coop that fills with bedding | INNOLAND Large | Slides sideways, so there is no bottom track to clog |
| Low headroom above the doorway | CKIN PET Large | Rolls up on an internal track instead of lifting |
| To see the coop from your phone | MASTERFUN Camera Door | App schedules, night vision camera, solar and USB power |
| To automate a door you already built | ChickenGuard PRO | A motor unit sold on its own, three ways to power it |
| The longest remote range | ZenxyHoC Solar Door | The remote programs every mode at a stated 328 feet |
How I ranked these automatic chicken coop doors
I have never hung one of these on a coop. What I have done for years is take apart cheap mechanisms and work out where they were always going to fail. That is the angle of this page.
- Where the door travels. A door that lifts straight up runs in a bottom track, and a bottom track fills with bedding, mud and grit. Rolling up or sliding sideways takes that failure mode off the table, and two makers here say so in plain words.
- What the maker will commit to in writing. Opening size, temperature range, battery capacity. Five of these ten will not print an opening size. One will print a temperature range. That gap is the most useful thing on this page.
- The battery and how you get at it. Solar with a sealed cell, or replaceable cells you swap. One popular door here makes you pull the whole unit off the coop to change them, and owners are loud about it.
- What owners say after a season. Not the first week. The reviews I quote below are the ones where somebody had it through a winter, or watched it quit at month three.
Straight talk: I earn a commission if you buy through my links. It costs you nothing and it pays for a day spent reading coop door listings. Prices move constantly, so I do not print them. Every spec below is what the maker states on its own listing, not a measurement of mine. For anything electrical, follow the maker’s instructions.
Best solar automatic chicken coop doors
Solar is where this category has landed, and for once the marketing points at a real problem. A coop is rarely near an outlet, and the alternative is remembering to change cells in something you deliberately stopped thinking about.
The catch is that a sealed cell is a sealed cell. When it stops holding charge you are replacing a door, not a battery. Every solar unit here also takes a charging cable, so dark weeks are a nuisance rather than a lockout.
1. NyPots Solar Automatic Coop Door
- Opening stated at 8.2 inches wide by 9.6 inches high
- Solar panel plus an internal 2000mAh cell, charging cable included
- Timer mode, light sensor mode and a manual mode
- LCD display for setting the open and close times
The door more people are putting on a coop this month than any other, and the one I would buy without thinking hard about it.
The reviews that convinced me are the boring ones, which is exactly what you want from a machine. One owner bought two, one for the coop and one for the run, and reports both running two years later with no problems. Several call the setup genuinely easy, and one singles out clear printed instructions, which is rarer in this category than it should be.
Two honest gripes. The listing warns in its own words that the opening is not suitable for turkeys, so read that 8.2 inch width against your birds first. And one owner points out the USB socket for the solar lead faces straight down over a corner, which is fine until you want to route the cable sensibly. No anti-pinch sensor is stated, so I marked that column not stated rather than guessing.
What I like
- It prints its opening size, which half this field will not do
- Solar, cable charging, timer, sensor and manual all in one unit
- Owners two years in still report it running
What bugs me
- The maker says it is not suitable for turkeys
- No anti-pinch sensor stated on the listing
2. ZenxyHoC Solar Door, 6 Programmable Modes
- Solar panel with a 2000mAh rechargeable cell
- Four automatic modes: light sensor, timer, light plus timer, and a combination
- Remote programs all six modes at a stated 328 feet
- Maker states it is engineered for extreme temperatures
The one you want if the coop is a long walk from the house, because the remote does the whole job rather than just opening and closing.
Most coop door remotes are a two-button afterthought. This one is the reason to buy the door. An owner tested the range from inside the house and it held. Another says the same thing I would say about the upgrade path: they came off a battery door where cells had to be swapped on a schedule, always with the worry it would die overnight, and solar simply removed the worry. One buyer put two of these on two coops under construction and reports both surviving some serious storms already.
Here is the part I will not let slide. The listing says engineered for extreme temperatures and names no numbers at all. That is a marketing sentence, not a specification, and if you live somewhere genuinely cold, buy the door below that puts a number in writing. Battery life feedback is mixed too, with no stated runtime to check it against.
What I like
- The remote programs every setting, not just open and close
- Four automatic modes, including light and timer together
- Owners report it through storms in the first season
What bugs me
- Extreme temperatures claimed with no range stated
- Battery life reports are split and there is no stated figure

3. BREDASINX Solar Door, HD Screen
- Opening stated at 10 inches wide by 8 inches high
- Solar panel, no wiring required
- Timer mode and light sensor mode, plus manual by remote or onboard panel
- Anti-pinch function stated, detects resistance while closing
Wide rather than tall, with the clearest screen anybody mentions and the thinnest record on this page. Read the gripes before you buy this one.
The screen genuinely is the standout. One owner who has been through several coop doors says the controls are the best they have encountered, and the display is bright and readable outdoors. Another confirms the solar side works as sold. The remote reaches from the house for a third. If it holds up, it is a lot of door for the money.
If. Read the bad review properly here, because it is specific and repeated. One owner bought two and reports one stopped working two to three months in, would not open or close whatever they did, and the second then started going the same way. Another warns the doorway is narrow at 8 inches high and needed the coop opening reinforced. Measure first, buy somewhere with a real returns window, and know this door has far fewer owners behind it than the two above.
What I like
- Prints the opening size, and it is a wide 10 inches
- The screen owners actually compliment
- Anti-pinch stated, which not every door here states
What bugs me
- An owner reports two units failing inside three months
- Only 8 inches high, and one owner had to reinforce the opening
Cold weather and the temperature range the maker states
This is the question the search results are full of, and almost nobody answers it with a number. Out of ten doors, exactly one states a working temperature range on its listing. One more says extreme temperatures and names nothing. The other eight are silent.
Cold is hard on all four parts at once. The grease in a gear train stiffens, the motor pulls more current, the cell loses usable capacity, and a door that lifts in a track can freeze into it after wet snow. Same reason a truck cranks slowly in January.
4. RUN-CHICKEN Door T50
- Maker states it is tested to work from minus 15F to 140F
- Battery powered, no solar panel and no cables needed
- App control with timer mode or light sensor mode
- Weatherproof aluminium, mounts with six screws, no wiring
The name everybody in this category already knows, and the only door on this page that will put a temperature range in writing.
The long-run reviews are what earn it the premium slot. One owner is over two years in with zero issues, hens out at sunrise and back in at dusk. Another has run it a year on a run permanently attached to the coop and still likes it enough to close up manually at dusk out of habit rather than necessity. A ChickenGuard owner of ten years, reviewing a rival product, mentions their T50 as the door they compared against, which tells you where this sits in the category.
Two things before you buy. It runs on cells rather than sunlight, which the maker frames as a feature, no panel and no cable to route, and which owners frame as a chore. More than one says changing them means taking the whole unit off the coop, in winter. No opening size is stated either, so if you have big birds, go to the next section.
What I like
- A stated temperature range, alone in this whole field
- Owners at two years and one year both still happy
- Six screws and no wiring, weatherproof aluminium
What bugs me
- Battery swaps mean pulling the unit off the coop
- No opening size stated anywhere on the listing
5. MASTERFUN Camera Door, WiFi App Control
- 7W solar panel, with USB charging as a backup
- App opens, closes, sets daily schedules and shows door status
- 1080p camera with night vision, plus alerts and photos
- Roll-up design, stated to fit coops without extra clearance
The one for people who want to look at the coop from bed. Also, quietly, the one that solves low headroom, because it rolls up rather than lifting.
The review I keep coming back to is from Alaska. That owner says the door has been a gem, that it is genuinely handy to open it by remote from a window when it is bitter outside, and that they ended up not using the solar panel. Another owner is refreshingly blunt: out of the box the door felt flimsy and lightweight and they doubted it, and then it worked. A third says the app is janky but functional and took about ten minutes to get onto the WiFi.
What the listing does not say matters here. No light sensor is named, only schedules and remote control, so this is a clock and a phone rather than a dusk sensor. No temperature range, no opening size. And more than one owner reports it arriving with no instructions. Buy it for the app and the roll-up mechanism, not for anything the listing promises about what is outside the coop at night.
What I like
- Rolls up, so a low doorway header is not a problem
- Solar and USB, an Alaska owner ran it without the panel
- Anti-pinch stated, and it reverses gently on contact
What bugs me
- No light sensor named, it is schedules and the app
- Owners report it shipping with no instructions
Best extra large automatic chicken coop doors
Most of this category is built around one number nobody prints, roughly an 8 inch opening. That is fine for standard layers and a problem the moment you keep ducks, geese, big breeds or anything with a wide back end. Two makers here call out that they are bigger than the standard 8 inch models, in those words, which tells you the standard is real even though most listings will not admit to it.
Measure the birds, not the doorway. Width at the shoulders, height standing, then buy an opening bigger than both.

6. FabStyl XL Solar Door
- Opening stated at 10.8 inches wide by 14.2 inches high
- Maker names larger chickens, ducks and geese
- Solar powered with USB-C backup charging
- Weather-resistant aluminium door and housing
The biggest doorway on this page by a distance, and the only one whose listing names ducks and geese by name.
Height is the number that matters and this is the one with height. At 14.2 inches it is more than half again taller than the doors in the section above, which is the difference between a goose walking through and a goose deciding not to. Owners describe fitting it into the wall of a newly built coop and having a schedule running the same afternoon.
Now the honest part, and it is about the listing rather than the door. It advertises three smart modes and spells out only the timer. No light sensor named, no manual control described, no temperature range, no opening action. I marked all four not stated below rather than assume, because assuming is how you end up with a door that does not do the thing you bought it for. If you want a dusk sensor, buy the NyPots or the INNOLAND.
What I like
- 10.8 by 14.2 inches, nothing else here is close
- Ducks and geese named on the listing, not implied
- Solar with a USB-C cable for the dark weeks
What bugs me
- Three modes advertised, only the timer described
- No light sensor named anywhere on the listing
7. CKIN PET Large Solar Door
- Inner frame opening stated at 9.45 by 10.24 inches
- Solar panel with a 2500mAh cell, the biggest here after the camera door
- Roll-up internal track, light-sensitive mode and timer mode
- Corrosion-resistant aluminium door, sturdy ABS motor housing
The mechanically smartest door on this page. It rolls up on an internal track, so the bedding and mud that kill vertical doors have nowhere to collect.
Read that third spec again, because the maker names a real failure mode and then designs it out. Their words: bedding, mud and debris plague traditional vertical coop doors, and the roll-up internal track is the answer. Same reasoning that puts a sealed bearing on a desert truck. Owners with a mix of standard layers and larger birds say the bigger passage is why they chose it, and installation comes up as straightforward more than once.
The record is the problem and I am not going to dress it up. This door has very few reviews, and several of the ones it has are Vine reviews, which means the reviewer received the product free. That is disclosed and it is legitimate, but it is not the same evidence as a few thousand people who spent their own money. One owner also flags a cheap-feeling remote link component. Excellent design, unproven at scale, and that is why it is not in my top three.
What I like
- Roll-up track, the bedding jam designed out
- 9.45 by 10.24 inches, bigger than the 8 inch standard
- 2500mAh cell and an aluminium and ABS build
What bugs me
- Very few reviews, and several of those are Vine
- An owner calls the remote link component cheap
8. INNOLAND Large Horizontal Sliding Door
- Slides sideways with no bottom track, stated as jam-free
- Four modes: light sensor, timer, remote and manual
- Remote at a stated 20 metre range
- Setup stated at under 3 minutes on pre-drilled holes
The other answer to the jamming problem, and the one with real numbers of owners behind it. This is where I would send most people who want a big opening.
A sideways door has one more advantage the maker points out and I would not have thought to write down. A vertical door that loses power or grip drops. A horizontal one cannot. The maker calls the difference a guillotine risk and says the gentle horizontal motion keeps timid hens and chicks calm, which is their claim rather than mine, but the physics behind it is simply true.
The review that sold me is from a repeat customer and it cuts both ways. Their older INNOLAND door failed after a year. The company replaced it, and they came back and bought this model, which people only do when the support was genuinely good. Two smaller gripes: the cable is short, so plan the panel placement, and one owner wishes the door locked when closed. It does not, and I will not tell you what that means for anything trying to get in.
What I like
- No bottom track at all, so nothing can pack into it
- Four modes including a proper dawn and dusk sensor
- A repeat buyer after a warranty replacement, which says a lot
What bugs me
- No opening size stated, which is a strange gap on a large door
- Short cable, and it does not lock when closed
Timer or light sensor, and which one you actually want
Every listing treats this as a feature list. It is really a choice about what you want the door to be wrong about, because both modes are wrong sometimes, in opposite directions.
A light sensor follows the actual sky, so it tracks the seasons on its own with nothing to reset in October. What it cannot tell apart is dusk and a black thundercloud at two in the afternoon. Placement matters more than people expect, because a unit tucked under a deep overhang sees a darker world than your birds do.
A timer is a clock and does not care what the weather is doing. Predictable, easy to reason about, and wrong by hours across a year as sunrise moves, so it needs resetting through the seasons. A bird still out at closing time gets shut out rather than shut in.
Both together is the answer, and the NyPots, INNOLAND, ZenxyHoC and RUN-CHICKEN all offer it. Run the sensor, keep the timer as the backstop, and watch it close a few evenings before you trust it with a full flock.

Battery life, and what the makers actually state
Here is the finding. Not one of these ten doors states a battery life. No runtime figure, no cycle count, nothing. What the solar models state instead is capacity, which is a different thing: 2000mAh on the NyPots and ZenxyHoC, 2500mAh on the CKIN PET, 5000mAh on the MASTERFUN. Capacity is the size of the tank. It says nothing about how far the thing drives.
So the only real evidence is what owners report, and I quote it below rather than inventing an estimate. Both doors here run on cells you replace yourself, the honest alternative to a sealed battery you cannot.
9. Battery Powered Door Opener with Anti-Pinch Sensor
- Runs on 3 AA cells, included, with easy access
- Low-battery indicator flashes when the cells need changing
- Anti-pinch function stops and reverses on resistance while closing
- Timer with open and close times set by button
No panel, no cable, no app. Three cells, a clock and a door. The cheapest thing here, and the reason I am telling you not to buy the cheapest thing here.
When it works, people like it a lot. One owner in rural Texas bought it so they could sleep in at weekends, which is the entire product proposition in one sentence. Several praise the battery compartment being easy to get at, which is a direct shot at the door in the cold weather section above. And the customer service comes up repeatedly, with one owner reporting a fast free replacement when their unit had a problem.
The reliability reports are why it is not a pick. One owner bought one in May, liked it enough to buy two more in late June for a flock of several hundred hens, and by September was reporting failures. That is a person who gave it every chance. A good low-battery indicator on a unit that quits at month three is not a bargain. If your budget is firm, buy the NyPots.
What I like
- Cells you can actually reach and swap
- A low-battery indicator, which sealed units cannot offer
- Owners report fast, free replacements from the maker
What bugs me
- Repeated reports of units failing within three months
- No light sensor named, so it is a clock and nothing else
10. ChickenGuard PRO with Self-Locking Door
- Motor stated to lift a coop door up to 2kg, about 4lb
- Power your way: solar kit, AA cells, or a 9 to 12V DC cable
- Four modes, LCD screen with menus and self-diagnostic alerts
- Motor units also sold on their own to automate an existing door
The one you buy when you already built a coop door and just want it to open itself. It is a winch with a brain, sold with or without a door.
This is the only unit here that quotes what its motor can lift, and it is the spec I most wish everybody printed. Four pounds tells you immediately whether your heavy homemade door is in scope, which no amount of talk about a powerful motor ever will. The power choice matters as much: solar, cells or a wired supply, decided by you. One reviewer has run ChickenGuard openers for over ten years, has owned several, and reports getting about five years of relatively trouble-free life out of each.
Two catches. The first is the one owners hit on the RUN-CHICKEN, and it is the most common complaint in this whole category: changing cells means taking the unit down, and one owner says doing that in winter is no fun, with the clock to reset afterwards. The second is that far fewer people own this than the mass market doors above, so the evidence is thinner even though the pedigree is longer.
What I like
- States what the motor can lift, alone in this field
- Three ways to power it, your choice not theirs
- An owner ten years in reports about five years per unit
What bugs me
- Battery changes mean removing the unit and resetting the clock
- Far fewer owners than the mass market doors here
Automatic chicken coop door feature check table
Every door here, every spec that matters, one screen. This is the table the rest of this category will not print. Scroll sideways on a phone.
| Door | Solar panel included | Replaceable cells | Light sensor | Timer | Manual override | Anti-pinch stated | Opening size stated | Temperature range stated | Opening action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. NyPots Solar | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | n/s | 8.2 by 9.6 in | n/s | n/s |
| 2. ZenxyHoC Solar | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | n/s | n/s | n/s | n/s |
| 3. BREDASINX | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | 10 by 8 in | n/s | n/s |
| 4. RUN-CHICKEN T50 | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | n/s | minus 15F to 140F | n/s |
| 5. MASTERFUN Camera | ✓ | ✗ | n/s | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | n/s | n/s | Roll-up |
| 6. FabStyl XL | ✓ | ✗ | n/s | ✓ | n/s | ✓ | 10.8 by 14.2 in | n/s | n/s |
| 7. CKIN PET Large | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | n/s | ✓ | 9.45 by 10.24 in | n/s | Roll-up |
| 8. INNOLAND Large | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | n/s | n/s | Sideways slide |
| 9. Battery Door, Anti-Pinch | ✗ | ✓ | n/s | ✓ | n/s | ✓ | n/s | n/s | n/s |
| 10. ChickenGuard PRO | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | n/s | n/s | n/s | n/s |
n/s = the maker does not say. Every cell is what the listing states, not a test of mine. “Solar panel included” is a check only when a panel ships with the unit, never for solar compatible. “Replaceable cells” needs a cell type you swap yourself, and the ChickenGuard earns both power columns because you choose solar, cells or a wired supply at purchase. “Light sensor” needs a dawn or dusk sensor named, “Timer” a clock setting, “Manual override” a named manual mode, button, remote or app.
“Anti-pinch stated” needs an obstruction function named. Sizes and ranges are the maker’s own figures. “Opening action” is filled only where the listing describes it, which is why most of that column is blank.
My top 3 automatic chicken coop doors
Ten doors is a lot to hold in your head. Here is where I would spend money, at three levels.
RUN-CHICKEN Door T50
The only door here that states a working temperature range, minus 15F to 140F, in weatherproof aluminium, on six screws with no wiring. Owners at one and two years still report it running.
NyPots Solar Automatic Coop Door
Solar with a cable as backup, timer, light sensor and manual, an LCD to set it on, and it prints its opening size. The one I would put on a coop tomorrow.
Straight about one thing: only the first two carry a record in the thousands of owners. The INNOLAND has a few hundred, and it earns its slot on the sliding mechanism and that repeat-buyer review rather than weight of numbers.
Notice what is not here: the cheapest. Both of the cheapest doors on this page have the thinnest evidence and the worst failure reports, owners describing units dead inside three months on each. The cheap option here is not a smaller version of the good one, it is the same idea with a motor that quits.
A door is one part of a coop that runs itself. Our backyard chickens guide covers the rest, the coop for 10 chickens guide covers what the door bolts to, and the pet food storage container guide handles feed.
Automatic chicken coop door FAQ
Do automatic chicken coop doors work in cold weather?
Owners report them working through hard winters, including one running a door in Alaska. But almost no maker commits to a number. Of the ten doors here, one states a tested range of minus 15F to 140F, one says extreme temperatures without naming a figure, and eight say nothing. If cold is your worry, buy the one with the range printed on the listing.
Are solar automatic chicken coop doors better than battery ones?
Solar removes the job you bought the door to remove, which is remembering. Eight of the ten here ship with a panel, and each also takes a charging cable for dark weeks. The trade is a sealed cell you cannot replace, against a battery door you can swap, often with a low-battery indicator. The most common complaint across this whole category was changing cells, so solar wins on the evidence.
What size opening does an automatic chicken coop door need?
Most are built around standard-sized layers, and two makers here describe the category standard as roughly 8 inches. Measure your birds across the shoulders and standing, then buy an opening bigger than both. Stated sizes on this page run from 10 by 8 inches up to 10.8 by 14.2 inches, and five of the ten listings state no size at all.
Should I use the timer or the light sensor?
Run the light sensor and keep the timer as a backstop if your door offers both, which four of these do. A sensor tracks the seasons for you but can be fooled by a very dark afternoon. A timer is never confused but needs resetting as sunrise moves through the year.
How long does the battery last on an automatic coop door?
No maker on this page states a battery life. What they state is capacity, 2000mAh up to 5000mAh on the solar models, and capacity is not runtime. The only real evidence is what owners report, which on the cell-powered doors runs from six months out of a set to far sooner. Buy solar if this matters to you.
What about Omlet and Aivituvin doors?
Both names come up constantly alongside this search and neither is on this page. That is not a judgment on either product. They were simply not in the set I could read owner reports on for this guide, and I will not rate a door I have read no owner reviews of. If either lands in a future set, it gets the same treatment as everything above.
Can I fit an automatic door to a coop I already have?
Yes, and there are two routes. Buy a complete door and cut an opening for it, or buy a motor unit on its own and automate the door your coop already has. The ChickenGuard here is sold both ways and states that its motor lifts up to 4lb, so weigh your existing door before you order. Then check your wall: a lifting door needs clear headroom and a clean bottom track, a roll-up needs almost none, a sideways slide needs clear wall to one side. Mount it square, because a door that binds is a motor fighting itself. Follow the maker’s instructions over anything here.







